//Cloudogu EcoSystem Docs

Backup & Restore

The Backup & Restore Dogu combines central functions for backing up and restoring data in the Cloudogu EcoSystem. The Dogu can be accessed via the corresponding entry in the "Administration" area within the Warp menu.

Position in Warp Menu

Within the Backup & Restore Dogu the division into the two areas Backup and Restore is visible on the navigation bar.

Navigation within the Dogus

After calling it, the Backup tab is displayed by default. This part of Dogus provides various options for configuring the backup mechanism and also offers information about running automatisms as well as backups that are already available.

Interface of the backup area

If there is a problem with the credentials configured in the Backup & Restore Dogu, an error message appears and the elements of the UI are hidden. In this case, you should contact your system administrator because there is a misconfiguration of the Backup & Restore Dogu. Triggers for this error condition are caused by non-existent or incorrectly configured credentials in the Etcd of the Backup & Restore Dogus.

Failure on Incorrect Dogu Configuration

If backups are available, they are displayed in the lower part of the page.

Display of available backups in the Dogu interface

The upper menu bar can be used to navigate to the restore area of the Dogu.

Restore area interface

Dogu subarea "Backup

Activate backup function

In the upper section of the backup area, the general backup functionality of the CES can be activated or deactivated via a button in the "Backup activity" field. Only when the backup function is activated can both scheduled and manual backup operations be performed. Deactivation, on the other hand, leads to the suspension of all backup and restore functions in the entire EcoSystem.

Activate the backup mechanism

Deactivate the backup mechanism

Set up automatic backup

With the help of the integrated backup mechanism, automated backups of the entire system can be performed at regular intervals. To do this, the desired start time of a backup process is entered within the backup area of the Backup & Restore Dogu via the "Scheduled Backup" field and stored via "Save". This is specified as time in the format 'hh:mm'. This configuration is checked daily, so that an automatic backup is started when the entered time is reached.

Note: This function is only functional in conjunction with an active backup mechanism (see section "Activate backup function"). During the backup process, the entire EcoSystem is shut down; all services and tools cannot be used during this time.

Step 1: Select time

Step 2: Set time

Step 3: Save time

After clicking on "Save" the stored time will be displayed every time the Dogus is called.

Disable automatic backup

A stored time of the backup automatism can be removed in the same way and thus time-controlled backups can be deactivated.

Step 1: Delete time by clicking on 'x'

After deleting a saved backup time, the message text changes back to the original default state.

Reset time

Start manual backup

The "Start full backup" button in the "Immediate backup" field can be used to trigger a manual backup. This runs in isolation from the scheduled backup automation and can be performed accordingly as needed.

Note: This function is only functional in conjunction with an active backup mechanism (see section "Activate backup function"). During the backup process, the entire EcoSystem is shut down; all services and tools cannot be used during this time.

Starting a manual backup

Security prompt

Information text after activation

Determine backups already created

Backups that have already been created are listed in tabular form in the lower area. Each backup is identified by a unique ID. This is displayed in the backup history. If the version ID of the backup corresponds to the latest version, a green check mark is displayed for the backup. The backup can thus be used for a restore. Backups of a version that does not correspond to the most current version are still displayed in the Dogu. However, these backups cannot be used for a restore, as this could lead to faulty system states. In addition to the version ID, the start and end time of each backup is displayed, as well as the result of the backup process. In case of an incorrect backup, the error messages can be viewed by clicking on the corresponding icon (Successful?).

The decision about which specifications are used to retain backups is subject to the so-called Retention Policy -- a defined policy that describes criteria for retaining backups. The active policy is permanently stored within the backup mechanism and automatically checks how backups are handled when backup operations are executed, for example.

The active retention policy discards all backups that are older than seven days compared to the end date of the most recent successful backup. Faulty backups older than seven days are automatically deleted as soon as a backup has successfully run.

Display of available backups in the Dogu interface

Active backup policy

The decision as to which specifications are used to retain backups is subject to the so-called retention policy -- a defined policy that describes criteria for retaining backups. For example, the system automatically checks how backups are handled when backup operations are performed. All available backup policies are listed and explained in a table at the bottom. The active backup policy is marked as a green line and contains the entry 'Activated' in the table plate 'Activation'.

Display of all pre-retention policies in the Dogu interface

It is possible to change the active guardian policy. To do this, click on the 'Activate' button of the desired backup policy. **Important: If you change the backup policy, after the next successful backup only backups according to the new policy will be kept. After clicking on the 'Activate' button of a backup policy, a confirmation modal is displayed. Only after confirming the modal the active backup policy will be changed.

Display of all guarding policies in the Dogu interface

Dogu subsection "Restore

Start restore

The "Start Full Restore" button can be used to initiate a manual restore process if a backup to be restored is previously selected from the list above it. Only after clicking on a "Select" button, the start button in the lower area is enabled for use. Analogous to the start of a backup process, an equivalent information text is also displayed when starting a restore after an appropriate confirmation prompt. During a restore, all unsaved data is lost and the entire EcoSystem is restored to the selected state.

Display of available backups in the Dogu interface

Select backup for restore

Start Restore